Unknown Territory..

Image

Being a 23 year old, and entering into the unknown world of banking, I have quickly found out there is so much that I need to learn. Since I have started at Bank Director, I have read so much material it feels like I am right back in the college classroom. I have even had some pop-quizzes! While interviewing for this position, I was told that I would have to be willing to learn something new every week, if not daily. With an open mind and an eagerness to get started, I wanted to jump right in. That is when I realized, I didn’t even really know where to start.

There is much more to this industry than the average consumer could ever imagine. Not only do bankers have to worry about the burden of holding their customers money, but they also have to comply with the endless rules and regulations that the government puts in place to keep them in check. While I had heard about regulations such as the Dodd Frank and TARP, I never truly realized how much of an impact these made on individual banking branches across the country.

The overall problem with the banking world stems from the fact that there is just so much to know. This makes the industry as a whole very intimidating. The purpose of this blog is for me to share what I have learned, what I think is  interesting, and  what I have found to be useful as I am playing catch up to everyone else within the company.

My main focus will be geared towards the consumer perspective of being a 20-something year old in the banking space. Topics will range from the uses of social media, to mobile banking. As the demographics of the country are changing, it is important to stay on top of the technological changes that are bound to occur. Instead of running away and being afraid, embrace it and join the ride. As an avid sports fan, this will be the one of the only times you will hear me say, come on and jump on the bandwagon!

Leave a Reply

