The Most Wonderful Time of The Year.

Image

It is the week before Christmas and it is very hard for me to believe that the Holiday season is already here. At least for me, it is a time of year I look forward to for months. Then before you know it, the month passes and you go on waiting all over again. I don’t know if it’s the fact I’m out of college with no winter break, or the unseasonably warm temperatures we are getting here in Nashville, TN, but Christmas has really snuck up on me this year. What makes matters even worse, is the fact that I have not even started Christmas shopping.

Now I’m sure many of you will think it is because I am a huge procrastinator, and that may be somewhat true, but I have to say that I have tried going to the mall, but have come out empty handed each time. I was talking to my dad last night about the whole idea of Christmas shopping. He proudly admits that he has not stepped foot in a mall during the Holiday season in years. This conversation somehow turned into a discussion on banking convenience.

He said “I can’t imagine switching to a different bank, not because the service is great, but because I never have to actually go to the bank. If I want to deposit a check, I can take a picture of it. If I want to make a transfer, I can do it on the app.”

Image

It is interesting that we have begun to see a shift of importance from great customer service and in person buying, to convenience. Yes, customer service is still a VERY critical component of any business, but it is not something that is looked at in the same light as it used to be. The same can be said for in person buying. Online shoppers in the United States are predicted to spend around $54.47 billion this holiday season, up 16.8% from $46.63 billion last year according to Internet Retailer.

With that being said, I am going to start and end my 2012 Christmas shopping tonight online, mostly because tonight is the deadline for ensured delivery by December 24th. I hope each and every one of you have a very Merry Christmas & Happy Holiday!

Image

Leave a Reply

